Miracles from abroad and another Candland

So Tre has a cousin Hayden Candland who is serving a mission in England. This is a miracle that is to great not to share.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

I want to share an amazing miracle that I found out about on Tuesday. So this miracle first sparked 21 months ago when I was being trained. So on my third Sunday in the mission field, my trainer Elder Ramsay and I got home from church, had lunch and then we decided to go do some park contacting in Avenham Park by the river Ribble.

a0df3bfe6fc5da92387a72f52678f36c865280e9

We said a prayer before we left that we would be led to someone that needed the gospel and would accept it. Well on our walk through the park we stopped and talked to this man named Robert. He had a joint in his mouth and seemed pretty sad. He told us that his daughter was sick and dying and asked how here could be a God if this was happening. I was still pretty a pretty fresh greenie so I didn’t know really how to answer him but I felt prompted to share about how on my Dads mission his mother past away from Cancer and how it was really hard for him, but we share that families can be together forever. We talked to him about the plan of salvation and thought that he was going to become a new investigator for sure. Well the spirit was really strong and we were in tears, but he told us he was sorry but he likes his cannabis and other things and that he will leave it for now.

 

At the end of the day I remember talking with Elder Ramsay because it was a tough day and we were just trying to figure out what we did wrong and why we didn’t find someone that day.

 

Well now fast forward 21 months to last Tuesday.

 

So I get a call from my friend Elder Singsam who is serving in Southport and he tells me that he has an amazing miracle to share with me. He told me that this man came up to them that day and said “Hey it’s because of two missionaries like you that I am still alive today”. They were like “What do you mean?”

 

And he went on to explain how he was walking through Avenham Park one day and he was on his way to go and jump off a bridge and kill himself because his daughter was close to death and he was depressed, but two Mormon missionaries stopped and talked to him. One shared a story about his father and because of that he decided not to jump off of the bridge. He said that one of them was from Texas (he’s really from Colorado) and one had glasses. He asked if it was Elder Candland and Robert said “Yep that’s the one!”

 

Now Elder Singsam and his companion are teaching Robert, his girlfriend and his daughter!!!

 

It was an amazing miracle that made me realize that yes sometimes we get rejected and people don’t want to learn more, but no effort goes wasted. When we share our testimonies with others, it goes farther than we will ever realize. If you are reading this and feel that you are wasting your time with someone or something or a group of people, please know that you are doing a great job! God will magnify your efforts and they will not go wasted.

 

I just want to thank my Dad. If it wasn’t for this experience that he went through, I wouldn’t have been able to share it with Robert. Every trial can be a blessing and is there so that we can help other people.

ac4c0028c478cacef2b90a5df35fbf97

Leave a Reply

