The Wet Side of Wichita

It’s been a great week, our amazing district saw two precious souls enter into the waters and enter through the gate to eternal life. I am so pumped for the Rolling Hills Elders who saw this sick miracle and will continue to see amazing miracles from the Lord. I am continually praying to see miracles in our area, investigators, our companionship and myself. I have to constantly shake myself and make sure I am not a slothful servant for the Lord, because I want to profit him and show how much I love the atoning sacrifice he gave me. I have been reading about our motivations for this work, and 2 Nephi 2:6-8 has been a powerful talking about how it is important to not only apply atonement, but also spread and rejoice in it. In John 16:33, Christ proclaims to his disciples that we need to rejoice because he overcame the world. This scripture has helped teaching, for the best way to rejoice is to full access his atonement through baptism. I don’t want to teach for any other reason (At least I’m trying to make this my only reason) other than to repay Christ and bring them to follow this commandment, to rejoice in his sacrifice. I think this could be one of the hardest, for to rejoice is to humble yourself and thank him for doing everything for us.

image1 (1)

We will be seeing another couple of souls enter in our district, for I know, and will continue to testify to our district and our investigators that Christ can do all things, big and small, and we should rejoice and take apart of the blessings. One investigator has been constantly pushed back for baptism, but the lord will help her, and she will take part of the blessings this Saturday.  I want her to love Christ as much than I do, if not more, because that is the way to remain faithful, worthy and full of Joy. President Ezra Taft Benson said in 1972 general conference, ‘That man is greatest who is most like Christ, and those who love him most will be most like him.’

I want to love him more so I can give more and be more like him. I hope this week is the best, because I plan to give it my all and let the savior take the rest and plan for success.

Just to let you know, that took me forever to write, mainly because I have to look at the references so I don’t say the wrong one.

Been really cool to serve here, and I think how surreal it will be in a couple weeks, where I hit my 6-month mark. I can’t believe how fast it’s been, I remember getting off the plane, thinking to myself, “This is going to be a long 24 months.” It’s already been a fourth of my mission, and it’s getting faster. I am freaking out, because transfers are 2 weeks away. Elder Mortensen says he will be leaving, and I will be district leader… And train one of 29 of the new missionaries coming in. Ah, no, the lord is not desperate. I will not be good for that. I have learned though, that the lord doesn’t care about your own personal ability, because he is the leader. I’m daunted, but the transfer is still far away and we can’t claim to know the lord. We’ll just see where it takes us.

Been biking a lot, so I hope to get some pretty muscular legs, and sweated off 10 pounds from biking so dang much. It’s been raining a lot here too, making it super muggy and humid.

image7

Don’t have any real funny stories, so I’ll make some this week. Also, make a funny music video with Elder Mortensen.

Take Care

 

Love,

Elder Candland

KWM 2016-2018

Leave a Reply

