The Wet Side of Wichita…

It’s been a roller coaster of emotion, most of those emotions are stress.
Kayleigh was looking great for Saturday, but her family had this huge fight, so she couldn’t make it. We ran over, but we obviously didn’t use the atonement to bring her to the waters this week. Don’t worry, though, because we are repenting and will see her and Joe Hutchinson enter into the waters this week.
Joe is looking so solid for this Saturday. We finally had a lesson with him by himself and had an amazing atonement lesson. He broke down in tears and told us why he didn’t feel peace. I felt prompted to share that I had struggled with things similar to him, though a bit different, but still ran my life into the ground. I told him, through Jesus Christ, I was saved, my soul cleansed of the past. I told him, in the name of Christ, that Book of Mormon shows that Christ  promises him peace and happiness by making sacred covenants, to strengthen us, and make us worthy to be in an eternal family. The spirit was so strong, I turned to him, pointed at the fount behind him and said, “The second you enter into the waters, you will be made clean, and can constantly be made clean by the sacrament. But first, you must be baptized. WIll YOU BE BAPTIZED THE 20TH?” He looked up at me, tears in his eyes, and whispered, “Yes, I will be baptized.”
Something sacred and amazing happened then. I felt the joy of Christ of bringing a lost sheep to the fold of God. He was looked over by the ward members, and he attended church all by himself. He normally takes his ex wife and their 2 kids, but they are in AZ, so he could have easily not come, especially with a family reunion an hour and a half away. But he came to church! God works in Miracles, and Joe is a miracle of forgiveness. We’ll be setting up the baptismal program tomorrow with him and his ex wife (They might get back together and be sealed)
19 And now, behold, when I thought this, I could remember my pains no more; yea, I was harrowed up by the memory of my sins no more. (Alma 36)
I studied this for Joe, not knowing the results, but as we asked him what stood out to him. This was the verse that stood out to him and started the path the spirit took him to the baptismal fount.
33 And again, if ye by the grace of God are perfect in Christ, and deny not his power, then are ye sanctified in Christ by the grace of God, through the shedding of the blood of Christ, which is in the covenant of the Father unto the remission of your sins, that ye become holy, without spot. (Moroni 10)
Never before has the conviction of angels entered into my heart until we taught Joe. He has been prepared and is ready to made holy, and without spot. I felt my words become the words of a pleading father, not my own, because I knew I wouldn’t leave the room until he knew, by our love and words, that he will be made clean by following Christ.
Sunday was a RCs birthday, so we made him a birthday cake and came over. Ricky is a little bit special needs, but he’s pretty functional, just a bit slower. He finally got a new apartment across the hall from his mom. He’s the coolest guy ever, so happy birthday to Ricky!
Also, a family in the ward fed us spaghetti and I joked about elf the movie and they made me some “special” noodles. I told them I would record it and show it to them.
Been studying a lot out of the Book of Mormon and I’ve begun to see why it’s important to read it, apply it and ABIDE in it. I’ve been focusing on helping investigator gain a love of the Book of Mormon and I’ve seen far better success from this than anything else.
Leave a Reply

