All I need is you, Lord

This has been an interesting and a faith a building week. At first, no one this week wanted to talk to us about the gospel and it became pretty discouraging. We have been walking since I don’t have a bike, and we’ve met some awesome children of God who are prepared to hear the word of God, but there has been a lot of persecution and slander from people on the street.

I’ve been fighting a slowly sinking feeling of despair, the first time I’ve ever actually had it on my mission. It’s been hard, but it’s never gotten me as bad as it had this week. I’m not going to lie, it’s been rough. Sunday comes along and I feel like I want to say a pray with Elder Goldsberry so we can find this family of four we’ve been praying about for 3 weeks. Every day since we started, I’ve been expecting that this is the night. That night, I told the Lord that we are going to do whatever it takes, even driving to a random house and knocking on the door until someone answers. We prayed and I told Elder Goldsberry to listen to the spirit, and whoever he feels is someone we need to see, let’s see them. He gave two names after we prayed that weren’t close to the family of four, but I knew that the spirit must have been speaking to him. We drove to Victor’s house, and for the first time ever, we met him and we set up a return appointment for tomorrow. He works for the church by mowing lawns and he’s pretty interested in the church, and he was wondering about if we could go to a Christian concert with him. I told I wasn’t sure, but that we can learn a lot from other churches, but this is the only church with the authority of God.

Next we tried Dillion and Ashley, another couple that we had very little success in seeing, but, the Lord is preparing people, and they were there. We taught them about eternal marriage and families, testified of it and the Book of Mormon and got them to commit to read it. I asked them if missionaries in the past gave them a copy, and they said no, and we gave them a copy and they seem to love the fact that God brought to pass, not man.

We tried more people, and less success until it came down to 6 before we had to turn in. I felt Satan tempt me to turn the car right and go back to the apartment, but the spirit urged me to go through the light, I followed the spirit and made a left, right and stopped the car in front of the house. I knew God wanted us to knock on this door. I hopped out with Elder Goldsberry and before we could even knock, this woman opened the door. We began our message, but she said she wasn’t interested, or “we are good where we are at.”

As I was walking back, instead of disappointment, I felt God’s approval. “I need you to go, when I tell you, and with all energy of heart. Prove yourself, and you shall receive your miracle.”

I know God wants to see if we will do what we are told so he can trust us with miracles, and I need to not let Satan stop us. I feel better after last night and it really built my testimony of the spirit, and I can thank my father in heaven for the instruction I have received in this gospel. Thanks also to our Zone Leaders and District Leader and you, Mom and Dad, for breaking the barrier between dreams and miracles. Anyone that uses their faith as a tool instead of a souvenir is a servant of God, and I need to make sure I fully realized this.

I know we’ll find this family this week.download

Love,

Elder Candland

KWM 2016-2018

Leave a Reply

