Blessed Art Thou Who Serve

image1

November 21, 2016

This week has been inspirational, worrisome and a week of determination. I wasn’t sure how I would feel leaving Wichita, but now I know that I’m going to hold it close to my heart, and that Lawrence is where I am assigned to labor for a season. I’m still trying to figure out how to work with Elder Colton, he’s a good missionary, but he’s had some rough companions in the past, and I want to be different. While we were doing comp inventory we were talking about reputations and how they precede us. I asked him if mine was bad or good. He said, not trying to hurt my feelings, that they weren’t good. I know that I don’t need to dwell on the bad, but I need to change and try and change myself and make my reputation good. Not meaning that is the only reason why I want to be better, I just want to have a good mission experience and have new companions excited to be with me.

The Zone Conference with Elder Anderson was great, I learned so much, and got one of my questions answered. I’m still going to study it out in the Book of Mormon, but it’s good to know how to access the power of our Savior’s great atonement. I’m also working on having meaningful study, and I’ve asked Elder Colton to help me with that, but do you have any suggestions? What I’m doing right now is begin with a prayer, ask for focus and for revelation for our investigators by name. I use my study journal everyday, to keep me focused on what I am learning and make the scriptures real to me. I also try and listen to the Holy Ghost and prepare myself if I need to go off on a tangent to find an answer for an investigator.

Elder Colton is from Provo, Utah, who’s birthday is coming up in December, so that’s exciting, and he likes to wood work. He likes to make furniture back home, and he made a desk and a end table and a grandfather clock. He is the 3rd child of 4, the only guy in those 4, the rest are girls, so he knows a lot about girls. He is a bit weird, but in a good way, I’m still trying to figure out how I feel about it, but he isn’t afraid to tell you what’s what, and he is pretty straightforward. He’s a lot different from Elder Goldsberry, who is a lot like me, but that doesn’t mean we won’t get a long, I just miss that goober a ton, he always got me to laugh. I never realized how much I cared for my greenie until I left on Wednesday. I worried about him, and still do, and remembered all the good times we had. I’m beginning to understand how our Heavenly Father feels towards all of us, and I hope to feel that way for all of the people I meet. I want to love them and show them charity.

We’ve got a lot of work to do here. Not a lot of members help out on the work, not a lot of investigators have been taught and progressed to baptism and the area book is a mess. We had a couple on date before I got here. They are struggling and are now in jail, making it hard for us to teach them. We’ve started to put our heads together and prayed and began to try and fix it. We are going to make a member sign up sheet and a skill sheet to find out what the members can help out with and feed us more. I feel like I’m stuck in a branch again, because there isn’t a lot of meals, sorry mom. This week is the biggest one in a while, because of thanksgiving, meaning we have 3 meals total this week. Yay! We also have to begin a more meaningful comp study and actually plan out what we are going to teach, because I feel like there wasn’t much of that when I got here. Investigators were surprised when I started to teach. I don’t feel like I can change the area, but I know Christ can, and I can be an instrument with my companion to change and glorify the Lawrence 2nd Ward. Pray for guidance and shared these goals with Elder Colton and I want to make this my best area yet. I’m so pumped to see a week full of MBCs, miracles and people on date and at sacrament.

 

Love,
Elder Candland
KWM 2016-2018
Leave a Reply

