D&C 123

December 19, 2016

Dear family,

Another week has flown by, and the snow has fallen down here in Lawrence, reaching up to a scorching 3 degrees Fahrenheit. I am so cold. It has been a really good week, with a bunch of miracles. We’re meeting a bunch of cool people and we finally got someone to accept a date. Her name is Mindy, she is a college student, and she is super prepared. She paid for a notebook to take notes specifically on the Book of Mormon, has completely filled out the pamphlets we gave her, marked up her scriptures, has cross references, and already believes it to be true. She was a potential we were working with that I thought wasn’t really progressing, but she is moving by leaps and bounds. She is currently going through chemo therapy, for her Leukemia, so keep her in your prayers. We had a church tour on Sunday (because Kansans freaked out and cancelled church when it reasonably could have been held) and she went to the baptismal fount, and began to cry because she felt the spirit so strong. She said she knew she needs to be baptized and knew that from the 1st time we met with her, that God told her. So prepared, I am still in shock. She is doing everything possible to baptized with her daughter, who was adopted into an LDS family and is being baptized relatively soon.

Elder Colton and myself are currently doing our best, and we are getting along great, though not without struggles. I remember fondly all my companions and how in each case, I learned a lesson invaluable to my mission. So great were these lessons that I will be changed forever. I am still struggling, but I work for the Lord Jesus Christ, who hast freed mine soul from the depths of the pit of despair.

We’ve been reading the Book of Mormon as mission for the holiday season, and its coming to a close. I am sad it’s coming to an end. I’ve learned so much from this experience, I am actually wanting to do this again once we are done. To take a fresh copy of the Book of Mormon, to study this whole volume of scripture on 1 specific question and see how  my eyes are opened. I chose how to access the atonement of Jesus Christ and I’ve learned so much about what is the enabling power of the atonement as well as how to access it, because I feel like that was something I struggled with back home. But Christ has enabled me to do marvelous work, because I am weak and simple.

D&C 1:23

23 That the fullness of my gospel might be proclaimed by the weak and the simple unto the ends of the world, and before kings and rulers.

book-of-mormon

Merry Christmas from Kansas!

Can’t wait to talk to ya in a couple days!

Love,
Elder Candland
KWM 2016-2018
Leave a Reply

