New Year, New Me

images

This week has been great, we were able to find some awesome people this week. We found this pretty cool new investigator. Went to her apartment, met her friend, who invited us in, and met his other friends. They all took copies of the Book of Mormon and said we can teach them all. We had a restoration lesson with all of them.

We also found a bunch of new investigators during inspired tracting. As we were walking to our 1st appointment, I felt prompted to knock on the 1st house on the street we turned onto. I was heavily tempted to walk on, and I almost did, but I called myself back and I asked Elder Cotton if he wanted to try that house. We  met Justin, who  talked to us for 30 minutes, and invited us to come back and teach him some more. We have met some really awesome people this week, and it helps that comp inventory unites us. We communicate more as we comp inventory and we are getting along a lot better.

We also got the cops got called on us, we were tracting and we were going door to door and three police cruisers showed up and they talked to us, and they told us people called 911, probably not taking anytime to find out what we are doing and just assumed we were trying to break into their houses. The cops were chill and they told us we needed to get solicitors license to knock on people’s doors. I’m not sure if I’ll get one though.

I’ve been trying to control my thoughts more and more, to keep it focused on the savior and bridle every desire. To ignore and control even the most basic wants of our temporal being, like to rest, to sleep, to eat, to think inwardly instead of thinking and acting outwardly. The savior taught that we need to be like him, it’s a necessity the world needs. I was studying 3 Nephi chapter 27, and I was pierced by the 27th verse and I took the end part and made it my quote for my New Year’s resolution.

‘Therefore, what manner of men ought ye to be? Verily I say unto you, even as I am.’

The savior expects us to be like him, so I’m going to focus on an attribute of Christ every month and become more like him.

I’m pretty excited to see more miracles this week.

Love,
Elder Candland
KWM 2016-2018
images
Leave a Reply

