Miracles Happen

January 23, 2017

I’ve been doing a lot of self reflecting. A lot of questioning, wondering, and pondering. It’s been a better week for me and elder Colton. I feel like our relationship is improving; we laugh more, have had a lot more spiritual experiences and we agree on things. I have been thinking about charity, especially since I want to improve our relationship, and I’ve decided that I need to serve more. It’s going to be more of a challenge with elder Colton because he doesn’t want any service done for him. I offer to serve, and it gets shot down. So I’ve decided to just serve without asking. I’m not going to break any boundaries, but I am going to make his bed and clean our apartment while he is in the shower. I’m thinking of more ways, because you begin to love someone you serve, so I need to make sure I’m serving him with all my heart.

image1

Mindy is so ready. She some how got a pamphlet of the testimony of the prophet Joseph Smith. She read it 3 times, prayed about it, and she knows that Joseph Smith is[was] a prophet and Thomas S. Monson is a prophet today. She also has a testimony about each individual Baptismal Interview Question. She loves church and the ward is pretty pumped for her. It was a surprise, because the ward is more of a, “missionaries do missionary work, and we’ll help out if they stay active for over 6 months.”

We’ve been teaching about MBCs and how we all can help build the kingdom, and at least some of the members in the ward has become more open to helping us by offering team-ups and fellowship. Some will take some time, but the ward loves Mindy, and they are beginning to see the blessings of missionary work.

She rocks, and elder Colton has really deserved this. It’s his 1st baptism, and he’ll be the one baptizing. She asked us what we think, and we told her it was her choice, and that we wouldn’t be offended by her choice. She asked if elder Colton has ever had a chance to baptize, and she decided he would do it. I think it’s better that he do it, he has put a lot of work into this, and the lord would want him to do it. I’m just happy to see her make such huge changes. She told us we made her a Mormon, and we quickly talked about how we hope it was the Holy Ghost, not us.

We have met some interesting people, one is Musa, who doesn’t believe in an afterlife, all religions are correct, that creation is bogus and that the Bible is mostly correct. We talked to him yesterday, but he was more interested in what we want, instead of what God wanted. He asked me what I wanted to do after my mission and I said how I was thinking going into law, to help people, but also because I believed God wants me to help preserve people’s rights. He tried to “correct” me, and told me I should do what I want to do. I recognized that his pattern of thinking is that of this world. Chase after your desires, then you die, and that’s it. No punishment, no crimes, no law, no happiness or joy, no sorrow for sin. We talked about prophets and how we believe Christ has called a living prophet. And he tried to convince us that we could be prophets. I told him I could be a prophet, but not a prophet of God, because there has to be a divine calling from God.

We also met this sweet old lady named Virgina, who referred her self a Book of Mormon and wanted to know more about Lesson 2: The Plan of Salvation, where she is going and how she can make it there. She is really solid. She had so many good questions and is planning on coming to church this week. She said she’s gone to churches in the past, but she is searching for more, but she isn’t sure what that is. We told her it’s the Holy Ghost, and she would find it at The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints.

I’ve been studying up on charity, the virtue of Christ I’m studying for the month, and I’ve learned so much, but I’m making sure I’m applying them. I want to develop Christ like love, a love for all of God’s children and lead them to eternal life. I’m pretty excited to apply more this week.

 

Love,
Elder Candland
KWM 2016-2018

 

Leave a Reply

